Board of Adjustment

The Board of Adjustment was created in 1976 by the Board of Commissioners. The members of the Board of Adjustment are appointed by the Board of Commissioners and appointed to three-year terms.

They are a quasi-judicial board that hears evidence and must make findings of fact. The decision of the board of adjustment can only be appealed to superior court.

There are five members on the Board of Adjustment, and two alternates. Of the five, four must live within the corporate limits of the Town and one must live in the extraterritorial jurisdiction (ETJ). Alternates have one representative from the ETJ and one from the corporate limits.

The Board of Adjustment makes decisions on appeals concerning decisions by the land use administrator, variances, and questions involving interpretations of the zoning map.

Current Board Members are:

  • Tad Adams-Vice Chairman
  • Jay Estes
  • David Hughes
  • Larry Loucks-chairman
  • Vacant Position

Alternates are:

  • Annie Moore
  • Vacant Position